Hit enter after type your search item
Home / Toronto / News / Mississauga Mayor Carolyn Parrish and Ward 5 Councillor Natalie Hart officially sworn in at LAC

Mississauga Mayor Carolyn Parrish and Ward 5 Councillor Natalie Hart officially sworn in at LAC


MISSISSAUGA, June 24, 2024 – Carolyn Parrish has officially taken over the reins as Mayor of Mississauga. The City of Mississauga’s newly elected Mayor, Carolyn Parrish and Ward 5 Councillor, Natalie Hart took their official Oaths of Office this evening during a special council meeting held at the Living Arts Centre (LAC). They were formally sworn in for the final two years of the 2022-2024 Council term by City Clerk and Director of Legislative Services Diana Rusnov.

Mayor Parrish and Councillor Hart will join the current sitting members of Mississauga Council:

  • Ward 1 Stephen Dasko
  • Ward 2 Alvin Tedjo
  • Ward 3 Chris Fonseca
  • Ward 4 John Kovac
  • Ward 6 Joe Horneck
  • Ward 7 Dipika Damerla
  • Ward 8 Matt Mahoney
  • Ward 9 Martin Reid
  • Ward 10 Sue McFadden
  • Ward 11 Brad Butt

In her address, Mayor Parrish shared her excitement and hopes while outlining her aspirations, and priorities for the two years remaining in her term.

The Mayor is looking forward to strengthening Mississauga as a multicultural and diverse City, and commented on her commitment to refining the City’s budget process through quarterly community budget consultations.

“Leaders I have admired inspire, motivate, challenge and work hard. I intend to be one of those leaders – inspiring this Council to make Mississauga an even better place in which to live,” said Mayor Parrish following the Oath of Office ceremony.

Housing was also a highlight of Mayor Parrish’s comments to the crowd gathered at the Living Arts Centre, stating she would chair a housing committee and find ways to streamline approvals for builders. She also highlighted her intention to ensure Peel gets it fair share of funding for social services.

The current term of office runs from November 15, 2022 to November 14, 2026. The next regular Council meeting is scheduled for June 26, 2024 at 9:30 a.m. in the Council Chamber at City Hall.

Learn more about Mississauga Council at mississauga.ca/portal/cityhall/mayorandcouncil.

photo: Mississauga City Council with newly sworn in Mayor Carolyn Parrish and Ward 5 Councillor Natalie Hart.

Other articles from totimes.ca – otttimes.ca – mtltimes.ca

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Linkedin
  • Pinterest
  • Reddit
This div height required for enabling the sticky sidebar