Hit enter after type your search item
Home / Toronto / News / Carolyn Parrish elected as Mayor of Mississauga and Natalie Hart elected as Ward 5 Councillor

Carolyn Parrish elected as Mayor of Mississauga and Natalie Hart elected as Ward 5 Councillor


The City of Mississauga announces the unofficial results of the 2024 mayoral by-election. Carolyn Parrish has been elected as the seventh Mayor of Mississauga, receiving 43,494 votes. Alvin Tedjo finishes second with 35,005 votes, followed by Dipika Demerla 27,119, and Stephen Dasko with 22,408 votes.

There were as many 20 candidates running in the by-election.

“Today we celebrate not just a victory at the polls but a victory for the future for our city. I am honoured and grateful to stand before you as your newly elected mayor of Mississauga,” Parrish declared to an excited crowd at the Mississauga Convention Centre reception.

Parrish also exclaimed, “The region is going to be stronger now because you’re going to have three mayors that actually get along and we will be formidable when we go to Queen’s Park or to Ottawa to tell them we need our fair share of funding here!”

Additionally, Natalie Hart has been elected as Ward 5 Councillor receiving 3,707 votes.

The unofficial number of voters who cast a ballot was more than 138,500 voters. The unofficial voter turnout in Mississauga was 25.71 per cent.

Former Mayor Bonnie Crombie, now the Ontario Liberal leader said Parrish will provide a very strong voice and be “a very strong leader for Mississauga.”


Premier Doug Ford, said he was looking forward to working with her to build “a stronger Mississauga and a stronger Ontario.”

Oath of office

The new Mayor-elect, former Mississauga councillor and MP Carolyn Parrish, and Ward 5 Councillor-elect will take their oaths of office at a date determined in consultation with the City Clerk. More information will be shared in the coming days.

Official results

All results in this release are unofficial. Official results will be certified by the City Clerk and announced in the coming days.

Learn more about the by-election results: mississaugavotes.ca/results.

For more information about the by-election for Mayor and Ward 5 Councillor, visit mississauga.ca/by-election-2024 or call 905-615-VOTE (8683).

by Terry Lankstead with notes from City of Mississauga

Other articles from totimes.ca – otttimes.ca – mtltimes.ca

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Linkedin
  • Pinterest
  • Reddit
This div height required for enabling the sticky sidebar