Hit enter after type your search item
Home / Toronto / News / NHL All-Star Draft: NHL takes schoolyard captain approach

NHL All-Star Draft: NHL takes schoolyard captain approach


Here are your 2024 NHL All Star team lineups as chosen by team captains Matthews, MacKinnon, Hughes and McDavid

Nothing says “cutting-edge professional sports” like reverting to the golden days of schoolyard recess. The NHL has decided to channel its inner nostalgia by letting four “captains” pick their teams.

The All-Star Draft

The NHL All-Star Draft selected some of its brightest talents to captain the teams, including the offensive wizard Connor McDavid, Stanley Cup champ and all-around great player Nathan MacKinnon, the young phenom Jack Hughes and the NHL’s scoring leader Toronto’s Auston Matthews. 



But let’s not kid ourselves; this game is less about fierce competition and more about players having a great time while fans collectively scratch their heads. Forget penalties, aggression, or any semblance of effort – it’s all about promoting the league, not winning. Because, let’s be honest, nothing boosts the NHL’s image like an All-Star game where players are less concerned about the score than Justin Bieber’s jersey design skills. 

Celebrity Captains

Perhaps the NHL should take a leaf from its own history and organize a game against the Stanley Cup Champions or a mid-season international tournament. But hey, flag football works for the NFL, right? And just to dial up the excitement even more, each team gets a celebrity captain. Because nothing says “serious competition” like having Will Arnett (Team McDavid), Michael Bublé (Team Hughes), Justin Bieber (Team Matthews), and Tate McRae (Team MacKinnon) lead the charge. It’s the stuff childhood dreams are made of – if your childhood dreams involved a conspicuous lack of effort and the occasional celebrity cameo. But hey, it’s all in the name of fun and games, right?

The All-Star Teams

Team MacKinnon

Co-captain: Cale Makar Colorado Avalanche

Sidney Crosby, PIT

Alexandar Georgiev, COL

Kirill Kaprizov, MIN

Sebastian Aho, CAR

Tom Wilson, WSH

Jeremy Swayman, BOS

Travis Konecny, PHI

Elias Lindholm, VAN

Oliver Bjorkstrand, SEA

Team McDavid 

Co-captain Leon Draisaitl – Edmonton Oilers


Connor Hellebuyck, WPG

David Pastrnak, BOS

Rasmus Dahlin, BUF

Robert Thomas, STL

Sam Reinhart, FLA

Sergei Bobrovsky, FLA

Boone Jenner, CBJ

Nick Suzuki, MTL

Tomas Hertl, SJS

Team Hughes

Co-captain Jesper Bratt  – New Jersey Devils


Quinn Hughes, VAN

Elias Pettersson, VAN

Nikita Kucherov, TBL

Thatcher Demko, VAN

Kyle Connor, WPG

Brady Tkachuk, OTT

Jesper Bratt, NJD

Cam Talbot, LAK

Brock Boeser, VAN

J.T. Miller, VAN

Frank Vatrano, ANA


Team Matthews

Co-captain Morgan Rielly – Toronto Maple Leafs


William Nylander, TOR

Mitch Marner, TOR

Jake Oettinger, DAL

Clayton Keller, ARI

Mathew Barzal, NYI

Igor Shesterkin, NYR

Filip Forsberg, NSH

Alex DeBrincat, DET

Vincent Trocheck, NYR

Don’t miss seeing these teams in action on February 3 starting at 3 pm on @espn, ESPN+, @Sportsnet, and @TVASports!

by Myles Shane

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Linkedin
  • Pinterest
  • Reddit
This div height required for enabling the sticky sidebar
Translate »
%d bloggers like this: