Hit enter after type your search item
Home / Arts / Movies / Schitt’s Creek receives record 26 Canadian Screen Awards nominations: See full list

Schitt’s Creek receives record 26 Canadian Screen Awards nominations: See full list


TORONTO, ON., February 18, 2020 – Schitt’s Creek and the recently cancelled Anne With An E, lead the comedy and drama television nominations respectively for the 2020 Canadian Screen Awards (CSAs), while The Song of Names received the most film nominations.

The Academy of Canadian Cinema & Television (the Canadian Academy) announced its full list of nominations for 141 different film, television and digital content categories in an official press release, Tuesday.

Schitt’s Creek was nominated for a record-breaking 26 CSAs, including best comedy series.

In the category of Best Comedy Series CBC’s Schitt’s Creek, a sitcom created by Dan and Eugene Levy about a once wealthy family living in a small town, is Kim’s Convenience, Jann, Letterkenny and Workin’ Moms.

Three of the Schitt’s Creek actors are nominated in the supporting actor category: Chris Elliot, Dustin Milligan and Noah Reid. While another three of the show’s performers are nominated for supporting actress: Emily Hampshire, Jennifer Robertson and Sarah Levy.

The comedy now in its sixth year was also nominated for an Emmy in 2019.

Here is a list of nominations for some of the main categories:

Best Motion Picture

Annie at 13,000 ft.
The Body Remembers When the World Broke Open
The Twentieth Century
White Lie

Best Lead Actor (Film)

Gilbert Sicotte (And the Birds Rained Down)
Ryan McDonald (Black Conflux)
Mark O’Brien (Goalie)
Marc-André Grondin (Mafia Inc.)
Dan Beirne (The Twentieth Century)

Best Lead Actress (Film)

Deragh Campbell (Annie at 13,000 ft.)
Nahéma Ricci (Antigone)
Elle-Máijá Tailfeathers (The Body Remembers When the World Broke Open)
Violet Nelson (The Body Remembers When the World Broke Open)
Kacey Rohl (White Lie)

Best Supporting Actor (Film)

Rémy Girard (And the Birds Rained Down)
Matt Johnson (Annie at 13,000 ft.)
Andy McQueen (Disappearance at Clifton Hill)
Daniel Stern (James Vs. His Future Self)
Douglas Grégoire (Kuessipan)

Best Supporting Actress (Film)

Leanna Chea (14 Days, 12 Nights)
Nour Belkhira (Antigone)
Larissa Corriveau (Ghost Town Anthology)
Alison Midstokke (Happy Face)
Yamie Grégoire (Kuessipan)

Best Feature Length Documentary

Alexandre Le Fou
If You Could Read My Mind
Invisible Essence: The Little Prince
Nîpawistamâsowin: We Will Stand Up

Television nominations

Best Drama Series

Anne with an E
Mary Kills People

Best Comedy Series

Kim’s Convenience
Schitt’s Creek
Workin’ Moms

Best Sketch Comedy Show & Ensemble Performance

Baronness Von Sketch Show
The Beaverton
This Hour Has 22 Minutes

Best Entertainment News Series

Entertainment Tonight Canada
ETalk Presents: TIFF 2018

Best Reality Series

The Amazing Race Canada
Big Brother Canada
Blown Away
The Great Canadian Baking Show
Top Chef Canada

Best Lifestyle Series

Home to Win
Island of Bryan
Mary’s Kitchen Crush
Property Brothers
Where to I Do?

Best Local Newscast

Home to Win
CBC Ottawa News at 6
CBC Windsor News at 6
City News
Global BC News Hour at 6

Best National Newscast

APTN National News
CBC News: The National
CTV National News with Lisa LaFlamme
Global National

Best News Anchor, National

Melissa Ridgen, Dennis Ward (APTN National News)
Adrienne Arsenault, Rosemary Barton, Andrew Chang, Ian Hanomansing (CBC News: The National)
Lisa LaFlamme (CTV National News with Lisa LaFlamme)
Dawna Friesen (Global National)

Best Morning Show

Breakfast Television (CityTV)
CP24 Breakfast (CityTV)
Your Morning (CTV )

Best Lifestyle Host

John Catucci (Big Food Bucket List)
Sangita Patel (Home to Win)
Bryan and Sarah Baeumler (Island of Bryan)
Mary Berg (Mary’s Kitchen Crush)
Drew and Jonathan Silver Scott (Property Brothers: Forever Home)

Best Local Reporter

Farrah Merali (CBC Toronto News at 6)
Angela Sterritt (CBC Vancouver News at 6)
Cynthia Mulligan (City News)
Rumina Daya (Global BC News Hour at 6)

Best Lead Actor (Drama Series)

Peter Mooney (Burden of Truth)
Billy Campbell (Cardinal)
Jerry O’Connell (Carter)
Roger Cross (Coroner)
Shawn Doyle (Unspeakable)

Best Lead Actress (Drama Series)

Amybeth McNulty (Anne with An E)
Karine Vanasse (Cardinal)
Serinda Swan (Coroner)
Lauren Lee Smith (Frankie Drake Mysteries)
Caroline Dhavernas (Mary Kills People)

Best Lead Actor (Comedy Series)

Paul Sun-Hyung Lee (Kim’s Convenience)
Jared Keeso (Letterkenny)
Jason Priestley (Private Eyes)
Daniel Levy (Schitt’s Creek)
Eugene Levy (Schitt’s Creek)

Best Lead Actress (Comedy Series)

Jann Arden (Jann)
Jean Yoon (Kim’s Convenience)
Michelle Mylett (Letterkenny)
Annie Murphy (Schitt’s Creek)
Catherine O’Hara (Schitt’s Creek)

For a complete list of all the Canadian Screen Awards nominees visit the Academy of Canadian Cinema and Television website

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Linkedin
  • Pinterest
  • Reddit
This div height required for enabling the sticky sidebar