Hit enter after type your search item

Home / Arts / Montreal emo rockers Gulfer release new single today

Montreal emo rockers Gulfer release new single today


MONTREAL, PQ., Sept. 11, 2020 — Today, Gulfer are releasing their latest single, “Heat Wave,” once again delivering a slice of explosive and agile emo. The second track taken from Gulfer, their new self-titled album which drops on October 16th through Royal Mountain Records and Topshelf Records, follows last month’s first single “Forget (Friendly).”

LISTEN to Heat Wave here:

Vocalist/guitarist Joseph Therriault talks about the new single: “Heat Wave” is about how conversation and interpersonal interactions can be so performative. It’s about how people present an idealized version of themselves in many situations (myself included). This is something I’ve been noticing more and more as I get older and lose touch with old friends. In a way, the flip side of that coin is to draw attention to how important real friendships are.”

Incorporating elements of shoegaze and grunge, and drawing inspiration from their contemporaries Oso Oso and Prince Daddy and the Hyena, as well as bands like Glocca Morra, Algernon Cadwallader, and TTNG, Gulfer sees the Montreal-based band at their most refined.

The new album features thirteen tracks of intricate, dexterous, and incredibly fun, punk-inspired emo tunes. Gulfer settled into their own with this career-defining record, and it is available to pre-order here.

1. Intro
2. Blurry
3. Nature Kids
4. Forget (Friendly)
5. Interlude
6. Heat Wave
7. Mall Song
8. Letters
9. Carefully
10. Flashing
11. Symmetry
12. Trips and Falls
13. Outro

Find more top stories at TOtimes.ca and MTLtimes.ca

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Linkedin
  • Pinterest
  • Reddit
This div height required for enabling the sticky sidebar
%d bloggers like this: